• Bach, Johann Sebastian : Concerto in D Major BWV 1053 for Violin and Strings [Score]

   Sample Pages

Johann Sebastian Bach

Concerto in D Major BWV 1053 for Violin and Strings [Score]

  • Reconstruction from the Harpsichord version
  • Transcription: Marco Serino
  • Publisher: Ut Orpheus
  • Code: HS 233A
  •   In Stock
  • € 16.95

Author: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Transcription: Marco Serino

Publication Date: 11/24/2017

Edition: Score

Pages: pp. 48

Size: 230x310 mm

Binding: Saddle stitching

ISMN: 979-0-2153-2467-1

Code: HS 233A

Stringendo Magazine (October 2019)
The preface for these scores written by Editor Marco Serino is outstanding. Serino reconstructed these concertos and the clarity of his description of his thought process is quite superb. ... The sources Serino has used to reconstruct Bach’s violin concertos are: the three surviving violin concertos, in the double version for violin and harpsichord, in which it is possible to observe unmistakably Bach’s modus operandi in the transposition of the concertos from violin to harpsichord; the manuscripts of the harpsichord concertos in the Staatsbibliothek in Berlin dated 1738, which represent the primary source of his transcriptions; the Vivaldi concertos of the Weimar years, where it was possible to see the transcription techniques used by Bach; and lastly, the cantatas in which Bach used entire movements of concertos already in existence before the harpsichord versions. Serino then fleshes out his reconstruction process in even more fascinating detail. Sets of parts and the solo parts can be obtained with the scores. (Andrew Lorenz)
Bach - Violin Concertos
Giuliano Carmignola & Concerto Köln
Ed.: Deutsche Grammophon 2014