Voice » Chamber Music » odh007a

Monteverdi, Claudio
Madrigali. Libro VIII (Venezia 1638)
Vol. I: Madrigali guerrieri

Editor: Andrea Bornstein

Price: € 51.95

Share: Facebook Twitter

Share: Facebook Twitter

Product Details

Author: Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)
Editor: Andrea Bornstein
Publication Date: Second Edition 3-1-2007
Edition: Score
Pages: pp. 184
Size: 235x315 mm
Binding: Paperback (Soft Cover)
ISMN: 979-0-2153-1517-4
Code: ODH 7A

Series Details

Claudio Monteverdi - Complete Madrigals
Urtext Edition

The body of Claudio Monteverdi’s madrigals is contained in nine books and, for the most part, can be divided into three parts that correspond to the three periods of the life of the Cremonese composer.
The first two books date back to the early years of his apprenticeship in Cremona (until 1590), under the strong influence of his teacher, Marcantonio Ingegneri.
During his time in Mantua (1591-1612), Monteverdi conceived three more books of madrigals (nn. 3-5) that mark a turning point in the musician’s output. The stylistic innovations of the Fifth Book also feature the introduction of continuo, provided ad libitum for the majority of the pieces of this collection and which is an integral part of the instrumentation for the others.
In 1613, Monteverdi moved to Venice as a result of his appointment as maestro di cappella at S. Marco. The Sixth, the Seventh and the Eighth books, to which would be added posthumously the Ninth book, all contain pieces in concertato style and therefore include continuo and, in some cases, an instrumental body.
This is the first complete Urtext publication including the entire corpus of madrigals composed by the great Cremonese master. An edition which was impatiently expected by musicologists and musicians who have until now had to use the admirable, albeit timeworn Malipiero edition.

[Introductory Texts in Italian and English]


Choir and Organ (September-October 2011)
Ut Orpheus Editions of Bologna has produced over 1,600 titles since it was founded in 1994. Each title (ranging from single works to full volumes) is sumptuously presented, and this is where to find new complete editions ofBoccherini, Clementi, and Geminiani. There is a bias towards Italian music, and the new edition of Monteverdi's nine books of madrigals is testament to this. The madrigals are available singly ... or as ten volumes (Book 8 is in two parts) ... Most remarkably, these volumes are available either in originaI or modern clefs, or even as a set of vocal and instrumental partbooks. This is remarkable attention to customer satisfaction, and the editions are beautifully presented with a full preface (in English and Italian) and criticaI commentary (Italian only) ... (Jeremy Summerly)

Other Customers also purchased: