Early Music » Sacred Vocal Works » nap003

Scarlatti, Alessandro
Il Giardino di Rose - La Santissima Vergine del Rosario. Oratorio for 5 Voices and Instruments (1707)
Critical Edition

Editors: Nicolò Maccavino, Giampiero Locatelli

Price: € 159.00

Share: Facebook Twitter

Share: Facebook Twitter

Product Details

Performance Material on Hire
[Solo: SSATB - Flautino.bFl. - - Lute - Str - Bc]

Author: Alessandro Scarlatti (1660-1725)
Editor: Nicolò Maccavino, Giampiero Locatelli
Publication Date: 4-1-2010
Series: Napoli e l’Europa (Naples and Europe)
Edition: Score
Pages: pp. 196
Size: 235x315 mm
Binding: Hardback (Cloth Hard Cover)
ISMN: 979-0-2153-1836-6
Code: NAP 3


From the beginning of 1703 throughout the whole duration of his residency in Rome (prolonged until the end of 1708, with the exception of the Venetian visit), the composition of oratorios was one of the principal activities of Alessandro Scarlatti, who added to his already noteworthy output with the creation of new masterpieces. Among these Il giardino di rose – the subject of the present critical edition – stands out for its stylistic innovations as well as for its intrinsic musical qualities. Authoritative scholars have indicated for some time that this piece may be considered as one of the best compositions of the Palermitan musician; and recently Saverio Franchi (to whom we owe the first critical edition), as well as pointing to the beauty of the music, its fine expressive qualities, has drawn attention to its modernity, going as far as to consider the oratorio ‘an exemplary work, a model of European stature, to which Handel himself had to measure up in order to create his Resurrection Oratorio. This was performed (in 1708) barely a year after Il giardino di rose in the same place, for the identical occasion, and for the same commissioning patron, the Marchese Francesco Maria Ruspoli.

Series Details

Napoli e l’Europa (Naples and Europe)
The Neapolitan School from the 17th to the 19th Century

This series presents critical and Urtext editions of music by composers of the Neapolitan School from 17th to 19th century.

Ut Orpheus Edizioni is the exclusive publisher for the Neapolitan School project, created by Maestro Riccardo Muti, at the helm of the Orchestra Giovanile Luigi Cherubini. Starting in 2007, in association with the Ravenna Festival, the Salzburg Festival has produced, for the Whitsun Festival, operas, oratorios and masses of great musical relevance, rarely performed or even unheard.
Ut Orpheus is publishing the critical edition of the music in the section of the present series named ‘Masterpieces of the Neapolitan School selected by Riccardo Muti for the Salzburg Whitsun Festival project in association with the Ravenna Festival’. Furthermore, the publisher is producing for each work the vocal score and the orchestral material on hire for other productions.

Presentation by Riccardo Muti

Introductory Texts in Italian and English

Other Customers also purchased: