Home » Early Music » echom001

Brussels, Royal Library, Ms II 3326 mus.
[ECHO Collection of Historical Organ Music - Vol. 1]
Works by Abraham Van den Kerckhoven and other composers

Editor: Jean Ferrard

Price: € 149.00

Share: Facebook Twitter

Share: Facebook Twitter

Product Details

Editor: Jean Ferrard
Publication Date: 1-25-2018
Series: ECHO Collection of Historical Organ Music
Pages: pp. 448 (2 Vols.)
Size: 235x315 mm
Binding: Paperback (Soft Cover)
ISMN: 979-0-2153-2533-3
Code: ECHOM 1

Series Details

ECHO Collection of Historical Organ Music
General Editor: Jean Ferrard

ECHO (European Cities of Historical Organs) was founded in 1997 upon a proposal made by Andrea Marcon, by the cities of Alkmaar (Netherlands), Innsbruck (Austria), Lisbon (Portugal), Roskilde (Denmark), Treviso (Italy), Toulouse (France) and Zaragoza (Spain). This union of cities both with historical organs and a festival or an international competition then decided to unite their efforts, share documentation on historical instruments, make common projects and exchanges, help students exchanges, and promote the construction of new instruments based on historical examples.

One of the latest projects of ECHO is ECHOM (ECHO Collection of Historical Organ Music). It concerns the conception and the realization of a series of organ music scores presented by the different cities, members of ECHO. The series of ten volumes (two per year between 2018 and 2022, general editor: Jean Ferrard) will involve unpublished or out of print complete manuscripts, and not excerpts. The musicological value of the collection depends on its detailed historical comments, complete critical reports and a demanding and responsible editorial policy, following the usual high standards of the organ publications of Ut Orpheus, Bologna.


The Consort Magazine (Summer 2019)
... The edition opens with a bibliography, followed by a description of the manuscript and the editorial procedure concerning titles, false relations, clefs, key signatures, note values, rests, ties (somewhat erratic in the manuscript), ornament signs (rather rare), accidentals, errors, keyboard range and so on, followed by notes on the composers. Parts 1 and 2 each include an extensive critical report on the pieces they contain. The printing is extremely clear and carefully laid out to minimise awkward page turns. Several facsimiles are included. Many of the larger-scale pieces will be valuable as voluntaries and in recitals, while the shorter Verses could be most useful in a liturgical context and as teaching material. ... The great value of this edition is the meticulous and concisely-written introduction, as well as the exceptionally well-written critical commentary. The first volume of this new project sets a very high standard indeed. (John Collins)

Other Customers also purchased: