Home » Recorder » fl017

Bingham, George
40 Airs Anglois et une Chaconne for Treble Recorder and Continuo

Editor: Nicola Sansone

Price: € 20.95

Share: Facebook Twitter

Share: Facebook Twitter

Product Details

Contents: Works by George Bingham and Gottfried Finger

Author: George Bingham (17th-18th century)
Editor: Nicola Sansone
Publication Date: 3-19-2012
Series: Recorder
Edition: Score and Parts
Pages: pp. 44 + parts pp. 20
Size: 230x310 mm
Binding: Saddle stitching
ISMN: 979-0-2153-1986-8
Code: FL 17

Series Details

General Editor: Nicola Sansone

This series intends both to propose the original repertoire of the past centuries, with the matching of well-known composers and pieces with others less known or still unpublished, and to promote present-day music in all its various aspects, in belief that Recorder has the right to a special place in an advanced musical civilization, not only for its role of historical memory or for its educational and recreative functions, but also and above all as a musical instrument 'translator' and 'messenger' between different languages, bearer and promoter of an active, sharable and open musical culture.


The Recorder Magazine (2014)
These sonatas by George Bingham were originally published in Amsterdam between 1702 and 1706. It contains many miniature pieces in the English style with several jigs, hornpipes and airs, including a snappy Scotch Air and a more graceful and legato English Air. There are also French movements with several bourées, minuets and gavottes. At the end of the publication there is also a Ciaccona by Gottfried Finger which becomes more virtuosic with fast passage-work in places. However, over all these pieces are only of a moderate difficulty for recorder players. This modern edition has a thoroughly researched editorial commentary and the editor, Nicola Sansone, has produced a fine publication for performance. (Oliver Smith)

Other Customers also purchased: