Francesco Geminiani Opera Omnia

Critical Edition founded by Christopher Hogwood

General Editor: Rudolf Rasch
Advisory Committee: Clive Brown, Enrico Careri, Peter Holman, Sandra Mangsen, Fulvia Morabito, Rudolf Rasch (Chairman), Rupert Ridgewell, Robin Stowell, Michael Talbot, Peter Walls, Neal Zaslaw

Of all the leading composers of the 18th century, only Francesco Geminiani (1687-1762) is lacking a complete critical edition of his music and writings. Although held to be the equal of Corelli in his own day - and indeed thought by some to be superior to his contemporary Handel in instrumental composition - a surprisingly large proportion of his compositions have never been reissued since his lifetime, and with the exception of a few solo sonatas and his treatises on “good taste“ and violin playing, Geminiani is largely ignored by the baroque taste of the present day.

The lack of availability of his music in scrupulous modern editions designed for practical performance has concealed the enormous originality he showed both in writing and re-writing his own music, and that of his teacher, Corelli. His adaptations and re-workings have never to date been presented fully and in a form that allows for pertinent comparison, and the majority of his music has not been revisited by musicologists for the last half century.

To celebrate the 250th anniversary of the composer’s death in 2012, Francesco Geminiani Opera Omnia will present all his works, instrumental, vocal and didactic, in full critical editions, with the composer’s first versions, revisions and re-workings presented consecutively by opus number, including a full critical commentary and facsimiles, together with practical editions and complete performance material for the orchestral and chamber works. The didactic treatises issued in English will be accompanied by Italian, French or German translations of the period, where these exist, together with full commentaries from modern authorities.

The Geminiani Opera Omnia is supplemented by Geminiani Studies, a volume of sixteen essays by international scholars on Geminiani's compositions and theoretical works, his art dealing and experiences with Freemasonry and the law, and his reception throughout history and in performance today.

More info:

[Preface and Critical Commentary in English]

Volumes Published:

  Geminiani, Francesco - 6 Sonatas Op. 5 for Violoncello and Basso Continuo (H. 103-108) - 6 Sonatas Op. 5 for Violin and Basso Continuo (H. 109-114)   [GCE 1]

  Geminiani, Francesco - 6 Concertos after Corelli Opp. 1 & 3 (H. 126-131) - 3 Concertos from ‘Select Harmony’ (H. 121-123) - 2 Unison Concertos (H. 124-125)   [GCE 2]

  Geminiani, Francesco - 6 Concertos Op. 7 (H. 115-120)   [GCE 3]

  Geminiani, Francesco - Rules for Playing in a True Taste Op. 8 (H. 400) - A Treatise of Good Taste in the Art of Musick (H. 401)   [GCE 4]

  Geminiani, Francesco - L’Art de bien Accompagner (H. 430) - Arte d’Accompagnare Op. 11 (H. 431) - The Art of Accompaniment Op. 11 (H. 432)   [GCE 5]

  Geminiani, Francesco - 12 Sonatas for Violin and Figured Bass [Op. 1] (1716) (H. 1-12) - 12 Sonatas for Violin and Figured Bass [Op. 1] (Revised, 1739) (H. 13-24)   [GCE 6]

  Geminiani, Francesco - 12 Sonatas for Violin and Figured Bass Op. 4 (1739) (H. 85-96)   [GCE 7]

  Geminiani, Francesco - The Enchanted Forest (H. 151-154)   [GCE 8]

  Geminiani, Francesco - 12 Concertos after Corelli’s Sonatas Op. 5 (1726, 1729) (H. 132-143)   [GCE 9]

  Geminiani, Francesco - Dictionaire harmonique | Dictionarium harmonicum (1756) - Guida Armonica Op. 10 (1756) - A Supplement to the Guida Armonica (1758) - The Harmonical Miscellany (1758)   [GCE 10]

  Geminiani, Francesco - The Art of Playing the Guitar or Cittra (1760) (H. 440)   [GCE 11]

  Geminiani, Francesco - Six Concertos after the Sonatas Op. 4 (1743) (H. 97-102)   [GCE 12]

  Geminiani, Francesco - 12 Trio Sonatas with Ripieno Parts after the Violin Sonatas Op. 1 (1757) (H. 25-36)   [GCE 13]

  Geminiani, Francesco - The Art of Playing on the Violin Op. 9 (1751) - L’art de jouer le violon Op. 9 (1752) (H. 410-411)   [GCE 14]

  Geminiani, Francesco - Keyboard Works (H. 201-259)   [GCE 15]

  Geminiani, Francesco - 6 Concertos Op. 2 (1732; Revised, 1751) (H. 50-55)   [GCE 16]

  Geminiani, Francesco - 6 Concertos Op. 2 (Second edition, 1755-1757) (H. 56-60)   [GCE 17]

  Geminiani, Francesco - 6 Concertos Op. 3 (1732-1733; Revised, 1751) (H. 73-78)   [GCE 18]

  Geminiani, Francesco - 6 Concertos Op. 3, Second Edition (1755-1757) (H. 79-84)   [GCE 19]  NEW

  Geminiani, Francesco - 12 Sonatas for Violin and Figured Bass [Op. 1] (1716) (H. 1-12). Appendix: Early Arrangements   [GCE 20]  NEW

  Geminiani, Francesco - Miscellaneous Works (H. 301-367)   [GCE 21]  NEW