• Beethoven, Ludwig van : Deux Cantabiles (from Violin Sonatas Op. 12 Nos. 2 and 3) for Harp and Violin

   Sample Pages

Ludwig van Beethoven

Deux Cantabiles (from Violin Sonatas Op. 12 Nos. 2 and 3) for Harp and Violin

  • Transcription by Marie-Martin Marcel de Marin
  • Editor: Anna Pasetti
  • Publisher: Ut Orpheus
  • Code: MAG 277
  •   In Stock
  • € 13.95

De Marin’s harp compositions are different from the whole repertoire coeval with him. From the compositional point of view, in his music there is a peculiar synthesis of stylistic elements of different origins: the lesson of the great Baroque composers can be easily recognized in the polyphonic conduct of slow movements, while in the use of ornamentation he recalls the style of French keyboard music from the first half of the 18th century. There are also hints of the “sensitive style” which was typical of harp music by Meyer and Krumpholtz, with frequent forays into minor keys and a certain formal indeterminacy, but at the same time the composer’s gaze turns forward, towards the Beethovenian conquests. All these elements translate into a harpistic language which seemed revolutionary to contemporaries and which still does not fail to amaze. In particular, the use of the peculiar sound effects of the harp takes on a characteristic role: harmonic and muffled sounds, pedal slides, to which is added the use of the eighth pedal, of rénforcement (disappeared in modern harps), are integrated into the writing and become part of the compositional fabric in all respects, according to a concept that will later be found only in the harp music of the twentieth century.
His knowledge of Beethoven’s compositions is testified by these two adaptations of the Adagios of violin sonatas op. 12, n. 2 and 3, published by Marin shortly after the first printing of the originals.

Author: Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Editor: Anna Pasetti

Publication Date: 11/17/2020

Series: Magadis

Pages: pp. 24 + parts pp. 4

Size: 230x310 mm

Binding: Saddle stitching

ISMN: 979-0-2153-2689-7

Code: MAG 277

Stringendo Magazine (October 2021)
... beautifully presented adaptations in the original keys of the Adagios of violin sonatas op.12 nos. 2 and 3, published by Marin shortly after the initial printing. The text, edited by Anna Pasetti has been kept as close to the original as possible. This work would be suitable for Intermediate to advanced players. The harp accompaniment works well and adds a further element of beauty to the composition. (Ros Hurst)