• Boccherini, Luigi : 12 Variations on ‘La Ritirata di Madrid’ in C major (G deest) for 2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello and Guitar

   Sample Pages

Luigi Boccherini

12 Variations on ‘La Ritirata di Madrid’ in C major (G deest) for 2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello and Guitar

  • Editor: Fulvia Morabito, Andrea Schiavina
  • Publisher: Ut Orpheus
  • Code: PEB 35
  •   In Stock
  • € 22.95

The Quintets nos. 1-7, 9 and the 12 Variazioni sulla Ritirata di Madrid, for guitar and string quartet, are not listed in Boccherini’s autograph catalogues, nor in the Catalogo Boccherini y Calonje, nor in the Catalogue Baillot. However they are mentioned in the Catalogue Picquot, and they have come down to us through three non-autograph manuscripts and three unauthorized printed editions of the early twentieth century. The documentary evidence establishes their authorship, their dating and the relevant musical source, as the single movements for the most part are transcriptions of compositions for other instrumental settings.

The primary source of the Quintets 7, 9 and the 12 Variazioni sulla Ritirata di Madrid is ms. L520, a codex comprising 5 volumes, dating from the first half of the nineteenth century, certainly assembled at Bar-Le-Duc, the residence of Louis Picquot from 1832 to 1853, who probably was the commissioner and first owner. Upon Picquot’s death, the codex was sold at auction in 1904 by the Berlin antiquarian Leo Liepmannssohn as lot 520. In 1911 it was acquired by the Gitarristische Vereinigung of Munich. During the twentieth century this institution dissolved, and the ex lot 520 passed into anonymous private hands. Rediscovered and examined in 2010 by Andreas Stevens and Fulvia Morabito, the codex was acquired by the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek in Munich.

In the Catalogue Gérard Quintet No. 9 is said to have four movements, the last being the Ritirata. This does not correspond to the original intentions of the composer, according to which the piece comprises only three movements (Allegro maestoso assai - Andantino - Allegretto). This edition, therefore, does only include the Ritirata variations, an independent piece in all respects.

Author: Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805)

Editor: Fulvia Morabito, Andrea Schiavina

Publication Date: 11/12/2012

Series: Luigi Boccherini Opera Omnia

Edition: Score and Parts

Pages: pp. 32 + parts pp. 20

Size: 230x310 mm

Binding: Saddle stitching

ISMN: 979-0-2153-2028-4

Code: PEB 35

Classical Guitar Magazine (01-2014)
With 12 pages of introduction in Italian, English, French and German, this is an impressively put-together edition that explains the composer’s life history and, even more interestingly, how this work was unearthed ... If there are readers who know of a string quartet, then this might be a great chance to cross-fertilise, as it were, as the string parts are considerably more interesting and challenging.