• Brahms, Johannes : Trio in B Minor (from Quintet Op. 115) for Clarinet, Violoncello and Piano

   Sample Pages


Johannes Brahms

Trio in B Minor (from Quintet Op. 115) for Clarinet, Violoncello and Piano

  • Transcription: Manuel De Col
  • Publisher: Ut Orpheus
  • Code: HS 178
  •   In Stock
  • € 29.95

The present version of the Quintet Op. 115 by Johannes Brahms was created with the intent of offering once more one of the most significant masterpieces of nineteenth-century chamber music, however placing it under a lens that tended to explore its ‘darker regions’ and new sound horizons, those at times hidden or too complicated to hear, maintaining the interpretative context from a new perspective without obscuring the original shape of the work and making perceptible collateral figures by simply casting light upon them and provoking in turn reflections on the primary musical level.
The proposal that follows reflects the intent to place before the listener a transcription with a different instrument combination which can accompany the clarinet and at the same time maintain a solid formal structure in a sound context qualitatively different.
Such a consideration is important to define this version as an alternative to the original for clarinet and strings, avoiding the mistake and the temptation to want to imitate the ‘game’ of the string medium.

Author: Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Transcription: Manuel De Col

Publication Date: 10/26/2010

Edition: Score and Parts

Pages: pp. 72 + parts pp. 32

Size: 230x310 mm

Binding: Saddle stitching

ISMN: 979-0-2153-1847-2

Code: HS 178

The Clarinet (06-2011)
... This very well done transcription of Manuel De Col could be a valid addition to the romantic clarinet repertoire and it allows us to explore the wonderful Quintet Op. 115 in a smaller but effective instrumental combination. (Luigi Magistrelli)