• Bassani, Giovanni Battista : Giona. Oratorio for 5 Voices (SSATB), Strings and Continuo (Modena 1689)

   Sample Pages



Giovanni Battista Bassani

Giona. Oratorio for 5 Voices (SSATB), Strings and Continuo (Modena 1689)

  • Critical Edition
  • Editor: Elisabetta Pasquini
  • Publisher: Ut Orpheus
  • Code: TME 1
  •   In Stock
  • € 159.00

Performance Material on Hire

[Solo: SAATB - Str - Bc]

Thanks to its patron the Duke Francesco II, Modena became a capital city worldwide for the oratorio genre: renowned maestro di cappella in Ferrara, also Bassani wished to offer to the Duke his own work, setting aside for him the summit of his melodic and dramaturgical inventiveness.
According to the documents that we have, the performance of Giona was Bassani’s debut at the court of Francesco II. Born in Padua around 1650, the composer carried out the main part of his activities in Ferrara, where he was organist (probably from 1667), and maestro di cappella at the Accademia della Morte (from 1683), and subsequently also at the Cathedral (from 1686); he also became a member of the Accademia Filarmonica of Bologna (in 1677) and was committed to Alessandro II Pico, Duke of Mirandola and Marquis of Concordia. In 1712 he moved to Bergamo, where he was maestro di cappella at S. Maria Maggiore; he died there on 1st October 1716. Before his commission in Modena, the «Bassani of Ferrara» – as he was often called at that time – had already printed seven instrumental and vocal works as well as a few operas and oratorios.

Author: Giovanni Battista Bassani (1650-1716)

Editor: Elisabetta Pasquini

Publication Date: 4/2/2009

Series: Tesori Musicali Emiliani (Emilian Musical Treasures)

Pages: pp. 196

Size: 235x315 mm

Binding: Hardback (Cloth Hard Cover)

ISMN: 979-0-2153-1609-6

Code: TME 1