Stefano Spallotta

Perpetuum for Guitar and String Quartet (2022)

  • Publisher: Ut Orpheus
  • Code: CH 375
  •   In Stock
  • € 22.00

The piece Perpetuum was written following a precise request of mine to Stefano Spallotta: I needed a composition to go with the performance of the short piece Elegia by Vittorio Fellegara, written for guitar and string quartet as a clear tribute to Gabriel Fauré. In fact, I found it useful to combine the composition by Fellegara with another one which was short and easy to listen to, a characteristic to be found in the final production of the Milanese musician.
Stefano Spallotta, whose Concerto for guitar and strings I had greatly appreciated (he composed it and performed it as a soloist), proved very willing to satisfy my request, and wrote the quintet Perpetuum, which I then had the pleasure of performing for the first time in Frosinone as part of the “Corde di Primavera” Festival.
Like the Concerto, this short piece also shows some characteristics which make it particularly interesting: in addition to being naturally very well written for the guitar, the composer combines a refined way of writing with a straightforward idiom and also creates a luminous expressive atmosphere, something not particularly common in music today.
I take the opportunity here to thank the composer also for the nice dedication, which refers to my long collaboration with many composers; a collaboration also shown by the present series which I have the honour of managing.
(Piero Bonaguri)

Author: Stefano Spallotta (*1975)

Publication Date: 4/27/2023

Series: Piero Bonaguri Collection

Edition: Score and Parts

Pages: pp. 16 + parts pp. 24

Size: 230x310 mm

Binding: Saddle stitching

ISMN: 979-0-2153-2802-0

Code: CH 375

Graduated in guitar with Giuseppe Gazzelloni at the Conservatorio “L. Refice” of Frosinone, Stefano Spallotta continued his studies privately with Frédéric Zigante.
He often performed concertos for guitar and orchestra, and he composed "Concerto Breve" and "Perpetuum" for guitar and string orchestra.
As a composer/conductor he has carried out research and integration with the theatre. He has also arranged and conducted for international opera artists such as Giorgio Gatti, Katia Ricciarelli, Francesco Zingariello.
Also active in jazz and music for the theatre, he has arranged and played for Italian pop artists such as Annalisa Minetti, Manuela Villa, Marcello, Wilma Goich, Rita Forte, Franco Fasano, Luisa Corna.
He regularly plays as a soloist, with the harpsichord and with the string quartet, but experiments in his own activity combinations of various kinds with chamber ensembles.
He is artistic director of the “Neos Kronos” musical cultural association of Colleferro (Rome).
He founded the “Corde di primavera" festival, an important reality in the guitar panorama of Central Italy, now in its fourth edition.
Since 2016 he has been professor at the guitar department of the Liceo Musicale "Bragaglia" in Frosinone and holds masterclasses in various Italian cities.