• Costa, Onorato : Souvenir d’Orient. Fantaisie brillante Op. 12 for Flute and Guitar

   Sample Pages


Onorato Costa

Souvenir d’Orient. Fantaisie brillante Op. 12 for Flute and Guitar

  • Editor: Fabio Rizza
  • Publisher: Ut Orpheus
  • Code: CH 124
  •   Out of Stock
  • € 17.95

Onorato Costa was a guitarist and composer. In Vienna between 1818 and 1832 he published a number of compositions for solo guitar and duets with other instruments. According to the Allgemeine musika- lische Zeitung, on the 27 February 1820, a guitarist by the name of Costa performed some variations on a Rossini cavatina in Vienna, which may be identified as the 'Variations sur un Thème favori de l’Opera: Cenerentola de Rossini' op. 6, published by Onorato Costa with Cappi & Diabelli precisely around the period 1819-20.
In this fantasia Costa uses three popular pieces: the first two are of Greek origin (the romance Ilios Lambros and a Sirtos, which was the most common dance throughout Greece in the 19th century) whilst the third is a Hungarian dance with variations.

Author: Onorato Costa (19th century)

Editor: Fabio Rizza

Publication Date: 10/5/2010

Edition: Score and Parts

Pages: pp. 20 + parts pp. 20

Size: 230x310 mm

Binding: Saddle stitching

ISMN: 979-0-2153-1884-7

Code: CH 124

Classical Guitar Magazine (November 2011)
Souvenir d'Orient (Fantaisie Brillante op.12) was published around 1832 and is one continuous piece divided up into clearly defined segments. After an initial and relatively lengthy introduction comes an Allegro Vivace suggestive of Greek music. This Greek influence is further illustrated later on in the work with an attractive, delicate and effective Andante marked 'Romance greque' and a little further after that comes a brief Largo based upon the Greek dance, 'Sirtos'. Almost as if to confuse matters, Costa concludes with an extensive vigorous dance in Hungarian style. Souvenir d'Orient is a highly attractive proposition containing many divers musical elements and would make for an exciting addition to any highgrade flute and guitar duos. The piece is well presented in full score and separate part for both performers. (Steve Marsh)