• Merulo, Claudio : Il primo libro de Ricercari da cantare a quattro voci (Venezia 1574) Intabulated and Diminished for Organ

   Sample Pages

Claudio Merulo

Il primo libro de Ricercari da cantare a quattro voci (Venezia 1574) Intabulated and Diminished for Organ

  • Editor: Francesco Tasini
  • Publisher: Ut Orpheus
  • Code: HS 306
  •   In Stock
  • € 50.95

In dealing with the diminution of the 19 Ricercari contained in the Libro primo, I decided, out of respect for Merulo’s original, to keep throughout the voices as they appear, thus deliberately refraining from the possible and momentary suspension of a line that could have given space to the coloratura of another voice.
Furthermore, I did not strictly adhere to the tablature ‘rules’ set out by Diruta and exemplified in the numerous printed versions of the time, limiting myself to indicating the distribution of the parts between the two hands in a non-rigorous way, always to avoid invalidating a clear reading of the movement of the voices.
The action of diminution is not limited to the replacement of long notes with passages of short notes respectively corresponding in duration, but also includes a rhetorical game between the parts, through syncopes, rests before an entry, changes of register, slurs and diversified repercussions and other expedients, in order to achieve an underlying movement and the arpeggio effects typical of the organ, modelled on many passages recognizable in the two books of Toccate by Merulo.
(Francesco Tasini)

Author: Claudio Merulo (1533-1604)

Editor: Francesco Tasini

Publication Date: 6/28/2021

Pages: pp. 224

Size: 230x310 mm

Binding: Paperback (Soft Cover)

ISMN: 979-0-2153-2713-9

Code: HS 306

Organists’ Review, March 2022
... Tasini provides an interesting and scholarly introduction. ... A good keyboard technique is required and there are some worthy pieces in this collection that can be used in recitals, complementary to standard fare to represent Late-Renaissance Italy. (Andrew Palmer)
The Organ, March 2022
... The introduction gives valuable information about the pieces and places them in a context stretching back to 1540. The edition is well printed and Tasini is to be commanded for his work. ... (John Collins)
Merulo: Il primo libro de ricercari da cantare, a quattro voci
Francesco Tasini, organo
Ed.: Brilliant Classics 2017