• Liber Fratrum Cruciferorum Leodiensium

   Sample Pages


Liber Fratrum Cruciferorum Leodiensium

  • Editor: Jean Ferrard
  • Publisher: Ut Orpheus
  • Code: ES 63
  •   In Stock
  • € 119.00

54 composizioni di William Brown (Wilhelmo Brouno), Christian Erbach(?), Andrea Gabrieli, Claudio Merulo, Vincenzo Pellegrini, Peter Philips, Gerardus Scroncx, Paul Siefert, Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck e anonimi

Among the sources of seventeenth century keyboard music, the Book of the Crosiers of Liège occupies an exceptional position since it contains some unica of composers as important as Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck and Peter Philips. It is also a remarkable manuscript in that this is one of the earliest appearances in organ music of accurate indications regarding registrations. Since its first edition in 1910, as the last volume of Alexandre Guilmant’s Archives des Maîtres de l’Orgue, musicological research has established new concordances, made some new attributions and proposed a few hypotheses which must still be confirmed.
In this way, the principal document concerning the organ in Liège and its music will again be accessible as a whole, with editorial remarks and commentaries, that seek to provide the reader with the most recent findings of musicological research as well as a rigorous and practical musical text.
[Introductory texts in English and French]

Editor: Jean Ferrard

Publication Date: 6/1/2008

Pages: pp. 340

Size: 235x315 mm

Binding: Hardback (Cloth Hard Cover with Jacket)

ISMN: 979-0-2153-1580-8

Code: ES 63