• Scarlatti, Alessandro : Salve Regina for Soprano, Alto, 2 Violins and Continuo [Set of Parts]

Alessandro Scarlatti

Salve Regina for Soprano, Alto, 2 Violins and Continuo [Set of Parts]

  • Editor: Maria Luisa Baldassari
  • Publisher: Ut Orpheus
  • Code: MS 40B
  •   In Stock
  • € 38.95

Alessandro Scarlatti ventured four times with the Salve Regina text, of which he draws compositions for various ensembles. The treatment of the text in this version obeys to the usual practice for the motets of a certain length: the antiphon is divided into ‘numbers’ of contrasting character alternatively entrusted to the duet and to the solos. In line with the modern style, Scarlatti choose to not emphasize the most remarkable moments of the text, but instead to provide an internal coherence to each section, keeping the expressive expedients to enhance a few elements and relying instead upon an harmony and melody rich writing and upon the virtuosity of the vocal parts.
The present edition is based on the manuscript kept at the Biblioteca del Conservatorio S. Pietro a Majella of Naples, compared to the 19th Century copy, less precise, that is part of the Noseda Fund of the Biblioteca del Conservatorio in Milan. The Napolitan drafting appears very meticulous, particularly in respect to the dynamic marks and expression marks (such as staccatos, slurs etc.) that lay out an execution full of contrasts and unexpected dynamic changes.

Author: Alessandro Scarlatti (1660-1725)

Editor: Maria Luisa Baldassari

Publication Date: 4/1/2007

Edition: Set of Parts (Vl I [3], Vl II [3], Vc [2], Bc)

Pages: pp. 116

Size: 230x310 mm

Binding: Saddle stitching

ISMN: 979-0-2153-1492-4

Code: MS 40B