Italiano English
Home New Editions Downloads News & Events Newsletter About Us Dealers Distributors
My Account Cart Contents Checkout

Music Education » Music in original Clefs » set009a

Monteverdi, Claudio
Madrigali. Libro VIII (Venezia 1638) [original clefs]
Vol. I: Madrigali guerrieri

Price: € 51.95

Share: Facebook Twitter

Product Details

Author: Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)
Editor: Andrea Bornstein
Publication Date: Second Edition 2011
Collana: Claudio Monteverdi - Complete Madrigals
Edition: Score
Pages: pp. 160
Size: 235x315 mm
Binding: Paperback (Soft Cover)
ISMN: 979-0-2153-1929-5
Codice: SET 9A
           Sample Pages

Series Details

Claudio Monteverdi - Complete Madrigals
Urtext Edition

Claudio Monteverdi’s (Cremona 1567 - Venezia 1643) nine books of madrigals can be divided into three groups. The first two books were written in the so-called Cremonese period (until 1590), when the composer was still very much under the influence of his teacher, Marcantonio Ingegneri. Books 3-5 were composed during the Mantuan years (1591-1612); the innovative style of these compositions - especially those in the fourth book - gave origin to a controversy with Artusi and other musicians, which ended, on Monteverdi’s side, with the theoretical definition of ‘seconda pratica’, which is mentioned in the preface to the fifth book, and further developed by his brother Cesare in the introduction to Scherzi musicali (1607). The last four books were conceived during the composer’s Venetian years; in 1613 Monteverdi was hired as maestro di cappella in S. Marco, an office he held until his death; he thus became the foremost musical figure in the entire Republic. The ninth book was published posthumously in Venice (1651).
This is the first complete Urtext publication including the entire corpus of madrigals composed by the great Cremonese master. An edition which was impatiently expected by musicologists and musicians who have until now had to use the admirable, albeit timeworn Malipiero edition.
The editors of this series are Andrea Bornstein (Books 1-6 and 8) and Michelangelo Gabbrielli (Books 7 and 9).
Every volume is issued both in modern and original clefs. Vocal part-books and instrumental parts are also available.

[Introductory Texts in Italian and English]


Choir and Organ (September-October 2011)
Ut Orpheus Editions of Bologna has produced over 1,600 titles since it was founded in 1994. Each title (ranging from single works to full volumes) is sumptuously presented, and this is where to find new complete editions ofBoccherini, Clementi, and Geminiani. There is a bias towards Italian music, and the new edition of Monteverdi's nine books of madrigals is testament to this. The madrigals are available singly ... or as ten volumes (Book 8 is in two parts) ... Most remarkably, these volumes are available either in originaI or modern clefs, or even as a set of vocal and instrumental partbooks. This is remarkable attention to customer satisfaction, and the editions are beautifully presented with a full preface (in English and Italian) and criticaI commentary (Italian only) ... (Jeremy Summerly)

Other Customers also purchased:

Quick Search
Free Shipping
on Orders over
€ 59.00
Follow Ut Orpheus
Facebook   Twitter   RSS
Subscribe here