Italiano English
Home New Editions Downloads News & Events Newsletter About Us Dealers Distributors
My Account Cart Contents Checkout

Early Music » Madrigals » odh008b

Monteverdi, Claudio
Madrigali. Libro VIII (Venezia 1638)
Vol. II: Madrigali amorosi
[Part-books and Instrumental Parts]

Price: € 66.95

Share: Facebook Twitter

Product Details

Author: Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)
Editor: Andrea Bornstein
Publication Date: 2000
Collana: Claudio Monteverdi - Complete Madrigals
Edition: Part-books and Instrumental Parts (Vl I-II, Vla I-II, Vc, Cb, Bc)
Pages: pp. 216
Size: 230x310 mm
Binding: Saddle stitching
ISMN: 979-0-2153-0562-5
Codice: ODH 8B

Series Details

Claudio Monteverdi - Complete Madrigals
Urtext Edition

Claudio Monteverdi’s (Cremona 1567 - Venezia 1643) nine books of madrigals can be divided into three groups. The first two books were written in the so-called Cremonese period (until 1590), when the composer was still very much under the influence of his teacher, Marcantonio Ingegneri. Books 3-5 were composed during the Mantuan years (1591-1612); the innovative style of these compositions - especially those in the fourth book - gave origin to a controversy with Artusi and other musicians, which ended, on Monteverdi’s side, with the theoretical definition of ‘seconda pratica’, which is mentioned in the preface to the fifth book, and further developed by his brother Cesare in the introduction to Scherzi musicali (1607). The last four books were conceived during the composer’s Venetian years; in 1613 Monteverdi was hired as maestro di cappella in S. Marco, an office he held until his death; he thus became the foremost musical figure in the entire Republic. The ninth book was published posthumously in Venice (1651).
This is the first complete Urtext publication including the entire corpus of madrigals composed by the great Cremonese master. An edition which was impatiently expected by musicologists and musicians who have until now had to use the admirable, albeit timeworn Malipiero edition.
The editors of this series are Andrea Bornstein (Books 1-6 and 8) and Michelangelo Gabbrielli (Books 7 and 9).
Every volume is issued both in modern and original clefs. Vocal part-books and instrumental parts are also available.

[Introductory Texts in Italian and English]

Other Customers also purchased:

Quick Search
Free Shipping
on Orders over
€ 59.00
Follow Ut Orpheus
Facebook   Twitter   RSS
Subscribe here